Some Nevada residents and visitors have serious chronic health problems and related symptoms, such as severe pain or nausea, malnutrition and muscle wasting, seizures and tissue spasms, post traumatic stress disorder, anxiety and depression, that fail to respond to traditional treatments. The state's Department of Health and Human Services has approved medical-grade cannabis use for the treatment of these symptoms and a wide range of conditions, including cancer, epilepsy, glaucoma, acquired immune deficiency syndrome and multiple sclerosis.
Patient Card Application Requirements
Patients rely on guidance from their doctors regarding the pros and cons of utilizing medical marijuana. Both children and adults can become enrolled in the Las Vegas Nevada Medical Marijuana Patient Card Registry. The only application requirement that differs with children is that a parent or guardian must serve as a "primary caregiver" and sign a release form.
As of 2017, all applicants must pay the state a total of $100 to apply for the card. This cost covers a $25 application request fee and a $75 processing fee. The state does not waive these fees for any reason. Although there was a charge of $13.25 for the physical card, which was paid to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Nevada changed this requirement in August 2016 when it ceased the DMV pickup requirement. A portion of the application must also be notarized and the patient must pay notary fees.
An applicant submits their application along with a physician's statement and a copy of the front and back of their driver's license or state ID card. The application review then takes up to 30 days while the state performs an included background check. Once a patient's application is approved, the patient receives their card via postal mail service.
Approved Medical Marijuana Access
Any Nevada resident who has a legal Nevada Medical Marijuana Patient card and any visitor with a similar patient card from another state can possess or cultivate up to two and a half ounces of medical-grade marijuana every two weeks. Access to medical-grade marijuana is restricted to state-approved, licensed dispensaries. Patients can find medical cannabis at a dispensary in the form of oil, pills, cream or smoke- or bake-ready dried herb. Marijuana cultivation is permitted in areas where a local dispensary does not exist, the closet dispensary can't meet local demand or the patient lacks transportation. Delivery or mailing of medical marijuana is not an approved access method. Updated licensed dispensary details can be found on this state-published PDF.
Police can not arrest an approved patient unless he or she performs an action outside of the law, such as possessing more medical marijuana than approved at the time police check the amount that the patient has on them or in their home. Any person, whether a patient or dispensary agent, who acquires or cultivates medical marijuana and THC without state approval is subject to prosecution under Nevada law. In some cases, a defendant might be able to provide a solid defense if they can prove that their actions were medically necessary.