Friday, February 22, 2019

Tiger Woods Avoids Disqualification at Masters

by TonyBerkman (editor), Costa Rica, April 13, 2013

watch the video

Tiger Woods received a 2 stroke penalty today before play for begab fir not dropping his ball in the appropriate spot yesterday after it bounced into the water.

Rules are really rules at this years Master as the rule keepers keep penalizing players with strokes regardless of how young or how famous they are. Tiger was penalized 2 strokes even before the third round start this morning after officials reviewed a drop that he took on yesterday's 15th hole yesterday.

This penalty places Tiger five shots back instead of three. This comes a day after the 14-year-old Guan Tianlang was hit with a one stroke slow-play penalty.

Why Tiger? His problem began on yesterday's 15th hole when his 3rd shot hit the flag pole and bounced into the water. He dropped a new ball, with a one-stroke penalty, and continued to play. The rules provide however that a player is required todrop that ball as close as possible to the original.

Tiger admitted afterwards that, "I went back to where I played it from, but went two yards further back," so that he could be in a better position. This could have been much worse for Tiger at Augustas as under the rules he could have been disqualified for signing what was an inaccurate scorecard. You can see a video about the rules and chance of disqualifications.

About the Writer

Krav Maga, Coffee, Spurs, Social Media, Growth and Contribution.

Want to write articles too? Sign up & become a writer!

0 comments on Tiger Woods Avoids Disqualification at Masters

Add A Comment!

Click here to signup or login.

Rate This Article

Your vote matters to us