The Great Houses In The Game Of Thrones

You have probably heard of Game of Thrones one way or another. You may also be a fan of the George R.R. Martin series. It’s already been a running joke across the internet that it would be rare to know someone who has not seen a single episode of the Game of Thrones. It has become a common household name, its lines even permeating into everyday language. Lines like “You know nothing Jon Snow,” “Winter is Coming,” and “The North sends their regards,” have become part of our lingo already.

Based on the bestselling book series of George R.R. Martin, this TV series follows different characters. Some notable characters are Jon Snow, Daenerys Targaryen, Arya Stark and Sansa Stark. For someone who just started watching, it might be a bit confusing to you especially since the HBO TV series spans over an entire land going over different plotlines. Here are some helpful trivia about the various Houses in Game of Thrones. Be warned that this article might contain some spoilers but I’m pretty sure you have come across them already anyway.

House Stark Of Winterfell

House Stark of Winterfell is one of the great Houses of Westeros. They rule the domain of the North, from their seat of power in Winterfell. House Stark has one of the most ancient lines of nobility in Westeros that stretches back more eight thousand years. House Stark has ruled as the Kings of the North. Before the Targaryen Conquest, they have ruled the North through the War Of The Five Kings and as of recently, through the invasion of Westeros by Daenerys Targaryen.

The House Stark of Winterfell’s rule almost came to an end at the Red Wedding when they were betrayed by the conspiracy of House Bolton, the House Frey and House Lannister. Many of the Starks were massacred including the most important member King Robb Stark, who was murdered by Roose Bolton. It is believed that he would be preceded by the remaining Stark children: Arya, Jon Sansa and Bran.

The House Stark’s sigil is of a grey direwolf with a plain white background on top and a green shield on the bottom. Unlike most houses whose mottos are brags and threats, the House Stark’s motto is a warning “Winter is Coming.”

House Lannister Of Casterly Rock

House Lannister of Casterly Rock is the richest and most powerful family in the Game of Thrones. They are also considered as one of the Great Houses. Their dynasty over their domain stretches back many years making it one of the oldest houses of Westeros. They mostly get their power from blackmail and showing their obscene wealth.

Some notable Lannisters are Cersei and Jaime Lannister, Tyrion Lannister and King Joffrey, who was known to be a Baratheon but was found later on to be of pure Lannister, a result of an incestuous relationship between the Lannister siblings: Jaime and Cersei.

Their domain is over the Westerlands with Casterly Rock serving as their seat of power. If the Starks are wardens of the North then the Lannnisters are the Wardens of the West. Their sigil is a Golden Lion on a background of Crimson. Their house motto is “Hear Me Roar.” However, this is seldom used in the series. What seemed to be their unofficial motto is, “A Lannister always pays his debts.”

House Targaryen

House Targaryen of Dragonstone is another one of the Great Houses of Westeros. However, they were mostly massacred during Robert Baratheon's rebellion against the Mad Targaryen King. However, Daenerys and Viserys Targaryen were able to survive this Targaryen purge. House Targaryen boasts of a pure lineage that dates back to Aegon the Conqueror of Westeros. Before the Rebellion against the Mad King, the House Targaryen was the royal and ruling house of the Seven Kingdoms.

The House Targaryen is the only surviving Dragonlords after the Doom of Valyria. However, after the purge, only Daenerys Targaryen is the only Dragonlord alive. Their seat of power is in Dragonstone, located on Westeros’ Eastern Coast. Their house sigil is of a red dragon with three heads, placed on a black background with their motto “Fire and Blood.” Daenerys Targaryen believes that the Throne of Westeros rightfully belongs to her as the last living Targaryen.

House Arryn

House Arryn is one of the Great Houses of Westeros. Their domain is on the Vale of Arryn where they have presided over a millennium. They were originally the Kings of the Mountain and Vale. However, they are now more known as Lord Paramount of the Vale. They are also the wardens of the East of Esteros.

The Eyrie has the ancestral seat of the Mountain Kings. The sigil of House Rryn is a depiction of a crescent moon on a blue field with a flying falcon. Their motto is “As High as Honor.” Some notable characters are Lysa and Robin Arryn. Lysa Arryn is the sister of Catelyn Stark, mother of Robb, Sansa, Arya, Bran, and Rickon Stark.

House Greyjoy

House Greyjoy of Pyke is another Great House of Westeros. They rule over the Iron Islands. The Iron Islands are composed of a harsh group of islands located off the west coast of Westeros. Their sigil is of a golden Kraken on a black background. Their House motto is “We Do Not Sow.” However, they often use another phrase, “What Is Dead May Never Die,” a saying that they closely associate to the Drowned God, a deity revered by the Greyjoys.

It’s hard not to have a side when watching Game of Thrones so who are you really rooting for to win the Game of Thrones? If you are a fan of the show or becoming one, I am sure that you would want more entertainment trivia. Each one of these houses is unique and bring so much to the story of Game Of Thrones, thus making it one of the most popular show to date thus far.